K2 Custom Meta Widget

12 03 2007

I have this nifty site map plugin from Dagon Design, but no where to put it. I had previously set up the Widgets plugin and had the Meta widget hanging out there just aching for another item, my sitemap link. I couldn’t find the correct file to edit, in fact I found the wrong one, and edited that code to no avail. Luckily I was able to use that code for a cut and paste quickey to get things going in a php widget. Anyway, I did a WordPress support search and came up with this post asking the same sort of question. Here is what is did described and posted to the support topic.

Now here’s how I did it in detail for dummies like me…

I have K2 (http://getk2.com/), a widget compliant theme.
I have installed the plugin Sidebar Widgets (http://svn.wp-plugins.org/widgets/trunk).
I also installed Executable PHP widget (http://ottodestruct.com).

At “Admin>>Presentation>>Sidebar Widgets” I scrolled down and added a “PHP Code Widget”. I drug this new button thingy (I guess a widget?) to the sidebar. Clicked the menu bar on the right end of that widget, and in the code box entered my meta code.

[]

  • “>Site Map
  • ” title=””>
  • ” title=””>
  • “>WordPress
  • []

    This code (remove the “[]” around the “‘s” of the “ul” and “/ul” tags) I stole from my K2 theme in the [k2 root]/app/moddules/meta.php.

    Voila!

    Actions

    Information

    One response

    14 10 2009
    Tech Plus Solutions

    can the meta date for Google be inserted for this to get crawed by Google?
    Mark Aydelotte
    Tech Plus Solutions

    Leave a Reply

